‘I’m surprised Appointments Committee approved the 3 security ministers-designate’ – Agbana

Deputy Youth Organizer of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Eric Edem Agbana says it is surprising the Appointments Committee of Parliament voted unanimously to approve National Security Minister-designate Albert Kan Dapaah, Minister-designate for Interior Ambrose Dery and the Minister-designate for Defence Dominic Nitiwil.

“In my personal and individual view, I was actually surprised that all three ministers in charge of security architecture were passed. In my individual view, I was surprised because I was thinking the Appointments Committee would use this opportunity to demand justice for the eight Ghanaians who lost their lives during the election,’ Edem Agbana said on Good Morning Ghana Tuesday.

According to him, as a country, we have to get to the point where people who are given the mandate to manage public office will do so solely with a clear conscience and in the interest of this country.

‘As we speak, we are still asking relevant questions about how families of those 8 children will get justice. Who deployed the military? “he quizzed.

He noted that the 26-member Appointments Committee made up of 13 members each from the NPP and the NDC should have compelled the three security ministers to disclose who ordered the shooting at the various polling centres.

His comments come on the back of the minority on the Appointments Committee rejecting the Information Minister-designate, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Minister-designate for Fisheries and Aquaculture, Mavis Hawa Koomson as well as Minister-designate for Food and Agriculture, Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto.


6 Ghanaians killed in 2020 election violence

Six persons lost their lives in the December 7 2020 general election as a result of electoral violence.

Below is the breakdown of deaths, the victims, and the various constituencies and regions where these deaths occurred;

  1. A 39-year-old driver, Tajudeen Alhassan from the Techiman South Constituency in the Bono East Region was killed.
  2. An 18-year-old electrician, Abdallah Ayaric also from Techiman South Constituency was sent to an early grave.
  3. In the Northern Region, a primary four pupils, Samira Zakaria met her untimely death at the National Democratic Congress (NDC) party’s office in the Savelugu Constituency. Samaria was hit by a bullet. She was described by the uncle as an excellent student who came third in the last exams before the covid break in March. She was also a hardworking girl who stayed home most times when Arabic classes or school was not in session.
  4. At the Ablekuma Central Constituency in the Greater Accra Region, Ibrahim Abass was a victim of election violence. The 30-year-old died at Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital after a gunshot wound.
  5. A 15- year-old, Rita Otoo, from the Odododiodoo Constituency at Accra was also shot and killed during violence that flared up in the Constituency leaving her parents traumatized.
  6. Emmanuel Dompreh from the Odododiodoo constituency.

By: Bernard Ralph Adams

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button